Posted by: dutchimport | January 3, 2007

One of those unexpected encounters

It’s a random early Wednesday morning, around 8:20 am. On my way to see my knee surgeon for my first post-op check up, I have Fishering stop at Pavilions so I could buy a nice Coppola wine for my doctor. As I’ve paid, and making my way to the automatic lottery machine, I see from the corner of my eye a girl come to a complete stand still. I thought she was nice to let me pass, hobbeling by with my crutch. The she calls out my name. I turn around, and I’m not sure if my face showed a impression of fear, surprise or joy. There stood my last ex-girlfriend.

I guess it was 2002 when we dated for about 7 months, never actually calling each other boyfriend or girlfriend. I broke things of in November of that year I think, and she did not want to have anything to do with me. Since then I ran into her maybe twice, and always had nothing more but short small talk and politeness.

This morning was different. It was good to see her, talk to her, hear about what she’s been up too. I told her about Fishering, and she was not aware of that small shift that occured in my dating life, so that was kinda awkward, but we recovered from that, and had a nice little chat. Because I know her from my years at a acting school in NoHo, I thought gossip would have reached all former students with whom I was close during those years, but I guess not.

We said our goodbyes, and I joined Fishering in the car who had been patiently waiting for 10 minutes or so. This encounter reminded me of how much has happened since I’ve arrived in the States 6 1/2 years ago. Hardships, friendships, relationships, good and bad times. I’ve come to know myself in many ways, and am very proud of where I am today, because it has been a long, bumpy road to get where I’m now. It sounds dorky, but I really did it my way…correction: I’m doing it my way

Responses

  1. Hey! I love your new blog layout. Feels like forever since I’ve caught up with you. I deleted my friendster account (long story) so wasn’t able to chime in. So happy that you and Fishering are now living together. I’m bummed that your knee has kept you out of commission, but keep plugging away, good things will happen for you. Happy new year to you both!


Leave a Reply

Categories

