Posted by: dutchimport | January 8, 2007

Catching Up

I’m on this huge race to see most of the nominated movies and performances, before the Award season begins (next Monday the Golden Globes). Last week I saw many movies that I can scratch of my list:
– Little Children
– Volver
– Dreamgirls
– The Queen

A couple of posts ago, I gave my list of top movies of 2006, and I must say that not much has changed after seeing this much buzzed movies last week. I really liked Volver, but I like everything by Pedro Almodovar, and think Penelope Cruz did a good job, and approve her nomination, but just as a lack of other worhty performances this year. I love Kate Winslet, and she was good in Little Children, but for me not Award material. I think she will win though, based on her career so far. Often that happens, that someone wins just based on other roles that they were nominated for but didn’t win (Denzel Washington in Training Day??? Common!).
I had high expectations for The Queen, but saw it more as a made for TV movie, and really didn’t like it much. I just saw Elizabeth I last week, and Helen Mirren was so strong in that one (I thought that was last year, but it’s actually nominated this year), so I hope she wins in that caterogy, but not the Lead Actress in a main Drama.
Even though I get a little sick over the Jennifer Hudson buzz, but i must admit she stole very scene of that movie, so I think she deserves it. I really don’t like Jamie Foxx and Eddie Murphy, and I still don’t like Jamie Foxx, but I was impressed by Eddie Murphy’s performance: worth the nomination.
There are som many caterories for the Globes, that it’s impossible to see most of them, basically because the movies are not playing in theatre anymore and not out on DVD yet.
Movies I really wanna see, but probably won’t get a change:
– Half Nelson
– Venus
– The last King of Scotland
– Hollywoodland
– Flags of Our Fathers/Letter From Iwo Jima

Nominated films or performances I will see before next Monday:
– Babel
– Blood Diamond
– Pan’s Labyrinth

Nominated films or performances I have no interest in seeing:
– The Pursuit of Happyness
– Bobby
– Sherrybaby (even though I love Maggie Gyllenhaal. I might see it, because it’s still playing)

More about the Golden Globes at the end of the week.

Responses

  1. I’m still catching up on the movies I haven’t seen in 2003.

    I’ll only see those on your list in 2011 (except Persuit of Happyness – that seems like a total crapfest).


Leave a Reply

Categories

