Posted by: dutchimport | January 14, 2007

Another best of 2006 list

Inspired by a piece on CBS Sunday Morning, I decided to put together a list of my favorite acting performances of the last year. Performances that have made an impact on me as an actor. In no specific order they are:

1. Dame Judy Dench, Notes on a Scandal
2. Cate Blanchett, Notes on a Scandal
3. Helen Mirren, Queen Elizabeth I
4. Matt Damon, The Departed
5. Leonardo DiCaprio, Blood Diamond
6. Penelope Cruz, Volver
7. Jennifer Hudson, Dreamgirls
8. Leonardo DiCaprio, The Departed
9. Vera Farmiga,The Departed
10. Dijmon Hounsou, Blood Diamond

Yesterday I saw Blood Diamond, and I was very impressed. I loved it. It’s a very violent, tragic story, with some flaws in the script that I’m willing to forgive because of the outstanding performances, and great directing by Ed Zwick.

Responses

  1. Yeah, but wait a minute. These performances are all from the last year. What about the last 10 years? Come on, there’s got to be some more that stand out for you over the last decade, right?

  2. Oh by the way, I’ve read a few articles about the Beckham’s coming to LA. I had no idea that they were so tight with TomKat. One article mentioned that Posh was set up to play a role in a new Scientology film being produced by Tom. God, it’s like watching a really excellent car wreck. I almost can’t wait to see how truly awful this will be.

  3. I was listening to something when i typed this post, and I mistyped year with the last 10 years…no idea why. This list is only of the last year, 2006.

  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you for recognizing Vera Farmiga’s performance in “The Departed”! Everyone talked about Nicholson, Walhberg, DiCaprio, but no one said anything about Farmiga. She does a lot with a small part, which I think she more than proved with 2004’s “Down to the Bone.” She’s an actress with a great talent for subtlety, and I hope she continues to get the chance to shine. Hollywood needs more actresses like her.

    M. Carter at the Movies
    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

