Posted by: dutchimport | March 5, 2007

Letter to the Editor

nytimes_logo_180×180.gif

As the brother of a mentally disabled older sister, I can relate to Tarah. In my teens, I was embarrassed by my sister’s behavior and appearance. Like Tarah, I became the “older” one and the “superchild,” flying under the radar so my parents didn’t have to worry about me. Not until my late 20s was I able to recognize that I carried the burden of being the “normal” one and that I didn’t have to feel guilty about it.

Dutchimport
Los Angeles

Posted in the New York Times on March 4th, 2007. I wrote this letter after reading an article, and I wrote a post about it not so long ago.
I got published in The New York Times:)!

Responses

  1. Excellent! Congrats on getting your letter published. I’ve fired off many letters to the editor–(mine are usually of the pissed off variety, though)–and I’ve never gotten published.

    BTW, I read the link to that article last week–it was a really fascinating read, so thanks for that.

  2. Congrats! Now you can say that you’re a published writer! And in the NY Times!

  3. This is pretty cool! I have never written in to a publication before, I don’t think. Good for you!!

    I do hope they printed your name and not “Dutchimport.” I’m starting to not understand all the nicknames on the internet. I know it’s for anonymity, but can we be on first name basis?

  4. I read it in the mag.

    Congrats, Jeroen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

