Posted by: dutchimport | March 13, 2007

Shut up and Sing

entweeklybig0605032.jpg
I wasn’t really excited to start watching “Shut Up and Sing”, the documentary about the Dixie Chicks, but it turned out a very interesting, disturbing, but rewarding piece. They had footage from every moment leading up to it, the actually comment, and the reactions to it. It’s so disturbing to see people react to such a small comment Natalie made, and the boycott against the Dixie Chicks that followed, including a death treat. The Dixie Chicks stood behind their actions, came back to not selling out anymore, but with integrity and dignity. The documentary was released before the Grammy’s, were the Dixie Chicks took all the Grammy’s they were nominated for! Weeks after the famous comment in 2003, Bush has his highest approval rate, and the war seemed to be over soon, and the Dixie Chicks were “traitors”, “non-patriotic”, and a witch hunt was encouraged by Country Music Radio stations. 4 Years later, the war is still going on, President Bush has the lowest approval rate then any President ever, and the Dixie Chicks rule! Their new album got to #1, without their songs being played on the radio.
As a European, I am embarrassed by the current government and especially the President (did you see him dance in Uruguay?). Especially after he got re-elected in 2004, my friends and family back in Europe just laughed at me, and could not believe he was voted back in power. Even if a donkey would have run for President against Bush, the donkey should have won!
Luckily I live on the West Coast that is very liberal, but it was very scary, sad and frightening to watch people in other States react to a comment as simple as “Just so you know, we’re ashamed the President of the United States is from Texas.”. President Bush is going to walk out of the White House with a mess to clean up that in my opion is going to take at least a decade. I’m happy to live in the United States, but I’m ashamed and embarrassed by the President and his entourage (Cheney, Rumsfeld, Rove. Rice and many more). Can some please give President Bush a blowjob in the Oval Office so we can Impeach him?!

Responses

  1. I cannot agree more with everything you said. I am from Texas myself…and I am embarrassed this idiot is from here. He gives all Texans a bad name…no doubt about that. I for one think the Ckicks are entitled to say anything they would like to say…similiar to the way Bush thinks. He afterall is forever putting his clumsy foot in hos mouth, his approval ratings display that quite nicely. Everytime I think about this, I want to carry my boombox up to the gates of the Whitehouse and play ‘Not Ready to Make Nice’ as loud as I can just to piss him off a little more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

