Posted by: dutchimport | April 2, 2007

Fire in the Hollywood Hills

It’s old news, but I thought I’d mention it anyway. Friday afternoon I left for Runyon Canyon for a hike with Sierra. I wondered why the sky got so dark as we were getting closer. And then…OMG…the cloud above the hills was so huge, and orange, grey and black. I started the hike thinking I might not be able to go far, cause the smoke seemed to be in Runyon. When I did reach the highest point I had a good view of the fire on the other side of the 101 freeway, just west of the Hollywood sign. The huge flames were clearly visible from were I was standing, and it was the closest I’ve ever been to a brush fire. It was scary, especially when the strong winds blew the flames over the hill from the valley side over to the Hollywood side. The fire department in the helicopters did an amazing job, cause it was clearly visible how they were able to stop the flames really getting a grib on the Hollywood side. One drop of water was able to extinguise that top fire, and it looked amazing seeing them drop the water. Luckily Lake Hollywood is just on the other side of the Hill, so they good reload fast. I didn’t bring my camera or phone so the picture is not mine, but the fire sure made the sky look beautiful in a scary “end of the world” kind of way.
070330hollywoodfire.jpg

Leave a Reply

Categories

