Posted by: dutchimport | April 2, 2007

Post Operation Update

It’s been a little over 3 months now since my knee surgery, the ACL Replacement & Meniscus Repair to my right knee.
Last Friday I had my last Physical Therapy, and I have to tell you, I’m going to miss those appointments. The people at the reception are so much fun, and I got along with my therapist so well, it was always a social hour catching up on our week, while doing excersises to work on the recovery of my knee. My therapist told me that my ACL feels very strong, and that I’m ahead of schedule with the recovery. I have my muscles in my right leg back, not as defined as my left, but it’s getting there.
About two months ago I started working out more frequently. I was aloud to go to the gym and use the stationary bike and elliptical, and some machines to work on my upper and lower legs. I am also aloud to work the Santa Monica steps, which is a great work out. I’m also back at hiking Runyon Canyon, tough way up, easy way downhill. I love being able to go hiking again, to be outside, sweating, and working out with Sierra running along. After not being able to really do cardio since last May, it’s so great to be excersising again!
So far I’ve lost about 10 pounds since the operation. The last 3 weeks were especially good, cause I increased the frequency of working out, but eating wise I was kinda bad, so I was suprised that just in the last 3 weeks I lost 5 pounds. I guess it’s true that the more you work out, the more you eat, but not having it turn into fat. If I work out intensly for a couple of days in a row, I feel some pain in the knee, but it’s not horrible. It’s a new muscle that needs to get used to being used a lot. I ice my knee very day, and that helps a lot too.
Overall, I’m very happy with the entire process, and it has been absolutely easier as expected. Can’t wait for June/July to be back at the tennis court!

Leave a Reply

Categories

