Posted by: dutchimport | October 10, 2007

I’m back!

The weekend in Carmel (the house we stayed at was actually in Pebble Beach) was really nice. Relaxing, and so nice to be away from LA, be in a house, smell the fresh air, etc. Monday was really tough being at work after a nice weekend getaway. Work has been tough lately, and I feel I’m not stepping up to the plate. I know I’m still pretty new at the job, so I should be so hard on myself.

One thing in the media I need to comment on. The “May Macarthur Park” report came out. For those who don’t know what this means: there was a demonstration in Macarthur park on May 1st, and it ended with the police dispersing the crowd aggressively by shooting rubber bullets into the crowd, and hitting innocent demonstrators and reporters. The police acted inappropriately, used too much violence, and the incident is under a huge investigation. My thoughts on this: the police was provoked by a couple of demonstrators who threw stuff at the police (this fact is hardly ever mentioned), they reacted by ending the demonstration and they went too far with their actions. But this whole investigation, outrage, and media attention is a little too much in my opinion. No one died and the injuries were only minor. If you look at demonstrations in the 60s and 70s, there was often a police intervention with force. But yes, in the May 1st instance, the police did overreact to the situation presented, but the whining and crying is just annoying me. We live in a time now where people are able to stand up for themselves more, which is good, but it brings along some negative things too. Doctors and teachers are scared and limited in what they can do nowadays, cause law suits against them are out of control. And with the police in this instance: the people involved have been reprimanded, and actions are taken to prevent this from happening. Can’t we just leave at with that and move on?
Hmmm, my reaction on this Macarthur Park thing sounds very much like what a Republican would say…I think I just threw up in my mouth a little…

Leave a Reply

Categories

