Posted by: dutchimport | November 2, 2007

Fuck Halloween! Long live Regina Spector!

Excuse my language. I just don’t like Halloween, don’t see the fun in it. In Holland we have something similiar on November 11th. It’s called Sinte Maarten. Kids dress up, go around the neighborhood, carrying a lampoon, and if you sing a song, you get candy. At a certain age, oh, 8 or 9 or so, you grow out of it, and you’re too old for it. Adults, no, we don’t do that shit.
So, Fishering got tickets a long time ago to see Regina Spector perform at The Grove in Anaheim. I know Anaheim sucks, but tickets to see her at The Wiltern the day before were sold out. So, we left work early on Wednesday to go home, and then leave for Anaheim. The 10 sucked ass, but the 5 was a smooth ride, and we go there at 8:15pm for the show to start at 8:30pm. Luckily they served beer, cause it was tough to stand through the opening act, Only_Son. He was, well, check out his Myspace page. He did come back and did an awesome song with Regina. The Grove is a Disney like theater, standing arena, no character at all, and totally not suitable for Regina. Something more intimate would have been better. Still, she gave a beautiful performance! She commands the stage with her unique voice, beautiful piano skills, and simple interaction with the audience. She played almost every song we knew and more. Her lyrics are emotional, funny, and different. Check out Music Box
Check out her music, she’s cool.
27174x-news-reginaspektor06-sm.gif
Okay, the big news now is that I’m going to spend Christmas with the family in The Netherlands for the first time since 1998 when I got back from Peru on Christmas Day after having experienced my first earthquake in Lima that morning. I going for 16 days! Can’t wait! I haven’t been to Amsterdam for a year and a half, and it will be good to see my family and friends. I’m hoping to spend a lot of time with my uncle, who after a good 6 months, has collapsted and had to be admitted in a mental institution again. He’s pretty much the main reason why I’m going back. I’ll write about him some other time.
Enjoy the weekend!

Responses

  1. Bleccchh. I’m glad you enjoyed Regina, there has to be someone out there to appreciate her syrupy, sweet, treacly-ness. What better thing to see on Halloween?

    On a more serious note, I’m happy that you be able to spend time with your family at Christmas, but I’m sorry to hear about your Uncle.

  2. She did this fantastic cover of John Lennon’s “Real Love” that gets me every time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

