Posted by: dutchimport | November 20, 2007

Fog

It was a chilly Monday night. I just finished watching the latest episode of Dexter, which by the way was awesome, and luckily a huge improvement from the last 3 episodes or so, and I got ready to take the dog out for a walk. When I got outside, I disappeared into the dense fog which covered the neighborhood. It was only ten o’clock, but because of the recent time change, it felt like it was in the middle of the night. The streets were deserted, no one walking the street, and only a few cars slowly driving down the road. Slowly driving not because of the fog, but because it’s cruising area #1 in WeHo.
It was dark, foggy, quite, and empty, which made the situation a little creepy, especially after just having watched Dexter. I loved it! I could hardly distinguish the smoke of the cigarette I was smoking with the dense fog all around me. My imagination took me centuries back, to London, the time of Jack the Ripper. Quite, deserted streets, and dense fog. Not ever having been to London, I quickly switched that scene to Amsterdam, a late winter night, walking or biking along the canals, buildings centuries old, the air you breathe out dissolves in the fog. I can’t wait to be in Amsterdam in about 6 weeks!
ripper2.jpg reguliersgracht.jpg

Responses

  1. I love this little story and the vignette you conjured. Isn’t fog the neatest thing?


Leave a Reply

Categories

