Posted by: dutchimport | December 17, 2007

Finally feeling better!

So I can give my thought on this year’s Golden Globes nominees.

Best Drama/Comedy/Musical
I’ve only seen two of them, Michael Clayton and No Country for Old Men, and they are deserving movies to be up there. I was surprised by Eastern Promises, never heard of The Great Debaters until now, and the other movies got good reviews and lots of award buzz, so I guess they’re good. Overlooked: Into the Wild. I loved this movie, because of the acting, and the cinemaphotography. I do feel that the characters actions are a little gloryfied, and that’s maybe why it’s overlooked.
On the Comedy/Musical side I have not seen any of them, and am not really interested except for Juno and Sweeney Todd. Didn’t wanna see Sweeney Todd at first, but it’s starting to grow on me. Charlie Wilson’s War is suppose to be good, so maybe I’ll go see it.

Best Actor/Actress all categories:
Don’t get me wrong, I love Cate Blanchett, but please, Elizabeth: The Golden Age was horrible! She did not even get a chance to act with all the wide and overhead shots. Do not agree! I ahven’t seen the other actresses, except for Angelina Jolie, and that performace was certainly award worthy! i don’t know what it is, but I just don’t like Keira Knightley.

I only saw George Clooney in Michael Clayton, and I loved his performance. Big, big overlook here: Emile Hirsch for Into the Wild! great performance, I thought. I saw La Vie en Rose, and Marion Cotillard was good as Edith Piaf, but it just seems that whenever you act in a biography, you get nominated for something. Didn’t see any of the Musical/Comedy films.
Ratatouille needs to win! I got so hungry watching all that food, and I wanted to move to Paris, that’s how good and real it looked.

Tilda Swinton is the only surporting actress I saw, and she deserves it for her part in Michael Clayton! Best supporting actor I saw Javier Bardem in No Country for Old Men which was award worthy, but I loved Tom Wilkinson, also Michael Clayton. Big overlook: Hal Holbrook in Into the Wild…my big for best supporting actor this year. Also overlooked: Tommy Lee Jones and Josh Brolin, both in No Country for Old Men.

Can’t really say anything about Director or song/score. I loved Into the Wild, but for some reason the music didn’t stick with me the way I thought it would.

TV:
Don’t wanna say much here, cause it’s the same old stuff, except for Madmen, which I really wish I’d watched. I am thrilled to see Michael C. Hall for Dexter and Mary Louise Parker for Weeds nominated, cause they are my favorite shows, and they are amazing in it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

