Posted by: dutchimport | January 14, 2008

My List of favorite movies and performances

Last night the Golden Globes winners were announced. I love the Golden Globes ceremony, all actors get drunk, are stuck in the bathroom when their name is mentioned as the winner, and all that fun stuff. I heard on the radio this morning that the city of LA lost about 80 million dollars due to the cancelation of the show. Poor limo drivers, hotels and everyone else affected by this. I’m behind the writers in their quest to get what they deserve, but I want it to be over, at least so we can have the Oscars!

I haven’t seen many of the nominated movies/actors, so I’m just going to give a list of top 10 performances and top 10 of best movies of 2007. I’m not going to make a distinction between lead or supporting, just performances I loved and admired.
I actually saw Sweeney Todd yesterday before it won some prices, and even though I did like the movie and the performances by Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter, they didn’t make my list.

TOP 10 PERFORMANCES OF 2007
1) George Clooney – Michael Clayton
2) Angelina Jolie – A Mighty Heart
3) Tom Wilkenson – Michael Clayton
4) Javier Bardem – No Country for Old Man
5) Tilda Swinton – Michael Clayton
6) Hall Holbrook – Into the Wild
7) Matt Damon – The Bourne Ultimatum
8.) Emile Hirsch – Into the Wild
9) Josh Brolin – No Country for Old Man
10) Marion Cotillard – La Vie En Rose

TOP 10 MOVIES OF 2007
1) Michael Clayton
2) No Country for Old Men
3) The Bourne Ultimatum
4) Into the Wild
5) Ratatouille
6) The Lookout
7) Eastern Promises
8.) Knocked Up
9) Alles is Liefde (Love is All: Dutch ripoff of Love Actually, but very well done)
10) Paris je t’aime

(haven’t seen: American Gangster, Juno, There Will be Blood, The Savages, Atonement, Away From Her, Charlie Wilson’s War, Hairspray, Enchanted, The Great Debaters, Across the Universe, Walk Hard…, Lars and the Real Girl, The Brave One, I’m Not There, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Before the Devil Know’s You’re Dead, The Kite Runner)

Leave a Reply

Categories

