Posted by: dutchimport | January 17, 2008

A Change Will Do You Good

As sung by Sheryl Crow.
Tomorrow is my last day working at my current job at the beautiful Villa. I’m sad to leave, but excited to start my new position at another museum on Tuesday. Even though I did not work at my current place for all that long, I’ve know most of the people here for about 3 1/2 years through Fishering. Most of the people I work with are my friends, a little family, and I’m going to miss them a lot. Luckily I know I will be back to visit, and see many outside of work. I will also miss my job. I love what I’m doing now! But…I could not pass, and did not want to pass on this great opportunity that came my way. It’s a huge move upwards, career wise and financially.

Every change comes with pros and cons. The biggest change that comes with this shift in jobs has to do with the pursuit of my acting career. No more flexibility to go out on auditions…
Last week Friday I did something no actor would like to do: I thanked my agent for all she’s done for me, and that I won’t be needing her representation anymore. A big step…

The last 6 years or so I have taken many acting classes, went out on many, many auditions, acted in some short student films, was a background actor, and some print modeling jobs. I acted in one play. My last agent and the agent before have only send me out on commercial auditions and I have booked none. I took special Commercial Acting classes, had many call backs, some on avail, but no success. Commercial acting is a completely different art form, and not one that’s particular fun. I guess there’s no place for me in the commercials industry. Which I don’t mind. I’m an actor, a trained stage actor. Theater is where my heart is, and I will from now on focus on and pursue to act in theater productions, where hopefully rehearsals, are in the evenings, and performances in the weekends. I really can not wait to act again, be on stage, and feel the energy coming from the audience. I know there is a place for me in Hollywood!
hollywood.jpg

And you know what they say, and yes, it’s a cliché, but there’s some truth in it…sometimes: some things come when you least expect it, and are not looking or waiting for them.

So it’s not a goodbye to acting, rather a shift in direction. A change which I know will do me good.
girlbeachxsmall221.jpg

Responses

  1. Congrats on the new job! That is super exciting. I remember when you left the last one… moving on is good!

  2. That is great about your new job! I’m happy for you! All change is bittersweet but probably necessary. Good luck getting started at the new place.


Leave a Reply

Categories

