Posted by: dutchimport | April 17, 2008

Get to know each other

I got one of these chain emails the other day in my Hyves Inbox (the Dutch version of MySpace). It had 40 some questions like “favorite color”, and then when you’re done with the questions you send it back to the sender and friends you want to respond. You know what I’m talking about.
I thought I’d make up my own list of questions, more personal, but also some just to get to get a feeling of what your life looks like. Maybe you can do the same on your blog, or send me an email with your answers, or just ignore this and do nothing. Copy the questions and fill in your asnwers. Here we go!

1. What time did you get up this morning?
6:45am, normally 6:30, but could do that this morning
2. First thing you do in the morning?
I take my dog Sierra on a hike at Runyon Canyon
3. How long is your commute to work?
About 20-25 minutes by car
4. What kind of work do you do?
Executive Assistant to the Director of a Contemporary Art Museum
5. What are your work hours?
9:30am-6:30pm
6. Do you like your job?
Yes
7. Always wanted to end up in a job like you have now?
NO! Never expected to end up in this art world. I take opportunities as they come
8. What would be the perfect career look like for you?
Being able to support my self acting
9. What did you think you wanted to be when you were a child?
A singer…but can’t really sing
10. Do you have nice memories of your childhood?
Yes
11. Any particular favorite memory?
I was a very happy child, many friends, and loved building huts in the wood, and that would be my favorite memory: playing outside with my friends
12. Worst memory?
My parents fighting a lot
13. Any siblings?
Yes, one older sister
14. Are you close to your sibling(s)?
I think I am. As close as you can get to her, I guess. My sister is mentally handicapped
15. Did you enjoy your teenage years?
No!
16. Favorite memory of these years?
Moving out at 18 to go to college
17. Least favorite memory?
So many. I’ve blocked out most of the years from 12 to 18. At 11-12 my depressions started
18. Would you like to go back to your teenage years?
Yes, but with the medication I’m on now:)
19. Are you still in touch with your childhood friends?
No, don’t have any. One friend in LA I’ve known since childhood, but we didn’t become friends until we reconnected in LA
20. Are you close with your family?
Yes, no hard feelings about the past, but can’t really get really into deep conversations with them. I’m also far away from them and only see them once every year and a half or so
21. Places you’ve lived?
Zuidelijke Ijsselmeer Polders, Lelystad, the town, didn’t exist yet, but I grew up in Lelystad (The Netherlands) unfortunately, Breda, Palm de Mallorca (Spain), Cusco (Peru), Marco Island (Florida), and Los Angeles for the last 8 years. In LA: Pasadena, Monrovia, Hollywood, Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, and now Los Angeles
22. Did you travel much?
Yes! I think I visited about 150 places in about 80 countries
23. What’s your favorite place you’ve been to?
Hmm, there are a lot. Manu, the rainforest in Peru; Sydney, Australia; South Africa; Paris, France; Patagonia, Chili; Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia; coast of Colombia; Los Angeles & New York
24. Least favorite place?
Lelystad; Mumbay, India
25. Place you definitely would like to go back to?
Australia!
26. New place you can’t wait to visit?
Caribbean
27. What do you do more: cook, going out for dinner or take out?
Cook, but simple stuff
28. What is your favorite food?
Spanish & Sushi
29. What’s you favorite restaurant?
Cobras & Matadors, although the quality has gone down, prices up, and you can’t drink alcohol outside anymore AND the liquor store next door to BYO has closed!
30. Favorite CD at the moment?
Niles Thomas, Love (Light my Way)
31 Favorite movies at the moment, or of all times?
Moment: The Bourne Ultimatum, Michael Clayton. All times: probably The Shawshank Redemption
32. Any addictions?
Coffee and smoking (I’ve quit 2 months ago, and only fell of the wagon one evening)
33. Do you have any piercings or/and tattoos?
No piercing, but 2 tattoos
34. What part of your body do you like best?
My eyes, back & shoulders
35. Are you happy with the way you look?
Yes
36. Would you like to change anything about the way you look?
Just shed a couple of pounds and get toned
37. Do you work out/play any sports?
I hike about 3-4 times a week, and play tennis
38. What attracts you to people?
Sincerity, smile, eye contact
39. What attracts you to a love interest?
Instant connection/sexual attraction
40. Are you in a relationship? Dating?
No
41. Any regrets in life?
No, I try not to have any regrets, but learn form mistakes and don’t look back
42. What do you like best about your personality?
I’m loyal, honest, loving, emotional, sexual, sincere, kind, able to make people smile,
43. What could use some improvement?
Mental health, but the meds are helping a lot! Letting things go easier, make myself happy first before trying to make others happy
44. What can you not live without?
My friends, my antidepressive medication, my dog, music, love, alcohol, my car (hey, give me a break…I live in LA!)
45. Do you have friends you would do anything for?
Yes, many
46. Do you believe you have friends who would do anything for you?
Yes, absolutely
47. Any question you think is missing in this list? If yes, what?
Probably, but this is what I could come up with right now
48. Are you generally happy with your life? If not, what’s missing?
Yes, and I’m proud to be able to say to say and see this after my struggles
49. Any favorite quotes or your own phrase to summarizes you?
Enjoy what you have, not with what you want (mine, I think), Live the way you wanna live, and don’t live how you think you’re suppose live, Innovate, don’t imitate (thanks Hugo Boss commercial!)
50. Do you think anyone will respond to this and send or post their list?
No, but I hope so

Responses

  1. very nice list.
    well done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

