Posted by: dutchimport | November 24, 2008

Alone for the Holidays…

I’ll be alone for the Holidays…

Actually, not really alone. My roommate is having a Thanksgiving dinner at our place, and I’m sure I’ll have somewhere to go for Christmas. But I’ll be alone for the Holidays. Alone as in not being in a relationship. Not having that someone special around. Not having to worry about what the plans will be, cause we’ll at least have each other. No, that this year. Not last year either, but last year I went home for the Holidays, home as in The Netherlands, spending Christmas and New Year with family and friends. Hopefully this year I have plenty of friends around to at least celebrate New Year’s Eve with.

This past Saturday I broke up with my boyfriend of 3 months. 3 Months doesn’t seem long, but we fell fast and hard for each other. We met at the airport in Seattle and were committed to each other ever since. Even though he lives in OC, which is only 1 1/2 away from LA, it didn’t matter…it was working. Then his work made a little more difficult to see each other, especially when job #2 came around. Double shifts, working 2 jobs a day. He was not happy, and started to withdraw from me. The bottom line is that I need more in a relationship. Distance, time and stress from both of our jobs made our relationship to difficult to maintain. I felt us becoming really good friends, without the intimacy. There are no hard feelings, no resentment, just the understanding that we had a great run, but we reached a dead end. That’s at least how I felt.

We’ll be friends, and stay in touch. I wish him well, and wanna know what will happen the next couple of weeks when he makes some decisions about his work. I care for him a lot, and I will miss him. But I’m okay. For me it was clear that this was it…the right decision. That doesn’t change the fact that breaking up is hard to do…it sucks!

I’m single again…

Leave a Reply

Categories

