Posted by: dutchimport | January 12, 2009

Golden Globes Winners

I really liked the show last night. It was fast, emotional, and I was happy with all the wins. I did cry a little when the late Heath Ledger won. Even though he was not my pick for best supporting actor (my pick was not even nominated, but for me Michael Shannon gave a great performance in Revolutionary Road), but Heath was absolutely great in The Dark Knight.
26292642

My other picks pretty much all won: Best Actor Mickey Rourke, Best Actress Kate Winslet (I cried with her when she accepted her awards…finally the recognition she deserves for all her great work), Best Supporting Actress, Kate Winslet, Best Director, Danny Boyle, Best Movie, Slumdog Milionnaire.

Kate Winslet won twice

Kate Winslet won twice

Amazing performance in The Wrestler

Amazing performance in The Wrestler

Even though Vicky Christina Barcelona just fell short of my top 10 for movies in 2008, I truly loved this movie and am happy for its win in best Comedy or Musical. Sally Hawkins won for Best Actress in a Comedy or Musical for Happy-Go-Lucky, a movie I really wanna see soon. Thanks to the Hollywood Foreign Press for not awarding Meryl Streep in this category, or any award to Mamma Mia, cause even though I love Meryl, I hated everything about Mamma Mia.

It was a great night for Slumdog Milionnaire, and this movie deserves all the acclaim its getting. If you haven’t seen it, go see it!

The cast and crew of Slumdog Milionnaire

The cast and crew of Slumdog Milionnaire

Click here to see all winners. I did not cover TV at all since I did not watch much the last year.

Up next: The SAG Awards!

Responses

  1. Mickey Rourke filled his role in The Wrestler really well… maybe too well


Leave a Reply

Categories

