Posted by: dutchimport | January 23, 2009

2009 Oscar Nominations

Wow, a couple of surprises this year! For the complete list of nominees, click here

Below are the categories I’m going to focus on, and give my two cents about them:

Best Picture:
“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
“Frost/Nixon”
“Milk” – glad to see Milk getting recognision!
“The Reader” – my second pick
“Slumdog Millionaire” : will win and should win.

Big mistake: Not nominating “Revolutionary Road” for Best Picture! This year, two movies really had people hate or love it: “Revolutionary Road”, I LOVED it, “Curious Case…”…hmm, not so much, not at all actually, but hate is too strong of a word.

Actor:
Richard Jenkins, “The Visitor” – have not seen yet
Frank Langella, “Frost/Nixon”
Sean Penn, “Milk”
Brad Pitt, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
Mickey Rourke, “The Wrestler” : will win and should win.

Big mistake: not nominating Leonardo Dicaprio for “Revolutionary Road”!

Actress:
Anne Hathaway, “Rachel Getting Married”
Angelina Jolie, “Changeling” – not seen yet
Melissa Leo, “Frozen River”
Meryl Streep, “Doubt”
Kate Winslet, “The Reader” – should win

Who will win: hmm, the Academy loves new faces, so Melissa and Anne could be the upset here. They were both great, but I think the Oscar will go to Kate after 5 noms and no win yet, I think the 6th will be it. Big mistake: not nominating Kate for “Revolutionary Road”!
Big mistake: leaving out Kristin Scott Thomas for “I’d Loved You So Long”! Kristin deserved it more then Meryl in my opinion.

Supporting Actor:
Josh Brolin, “Milk” – nice
Robert Downey Jr., “Tropic Thunder” – not seen yet
Philip Seymour Hoffman, “Doubt”
Heath Ledger, “The Dark Knight” : will/should win
Michael Shannon, “Revolutionary Road” : won’t win/should win

I’m conflicted here. Heath Ledger played the part of his career, and yes, Oscar worthy. Michael Shannon was absolutely amazing, and yes, Oscar worthy. Since Heath passed away, the recognision comes too late, and it will mean something for his friends, family, The Dark Knight cast and crew, but for Michael Shannon it would be a nice honor for him in his life time. Though, toss up…I’ll be happy either way

Supporting Actress:
Amy Adams, “Doubt”
Penelope Cruz, “Vicky Cristina Barcelona”
Viola Davis, “Doubt”
Taraji P. Henson, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” : will win
Marisa Tomei, “The Wrestler” : should win

I think all were good, but my least favorite would be Taraji, but she’s getting so much buzz (as is the movie), that I think it will be her night. Who I think should win? I think I’ll go with Marisa. She’s never afraid to take on though, smaller parts, that show her acting skills (and body…WOW!). I LOVED Viola Davis, but thinking about it more…she only had one scene in which she shined, and what made her deserve the nod. Would love it if Penelope won as well.

Director:
David Fincher, “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”
Ron Howard, “Frost/Nixon”
Gus Van Sant, “Milk”
Stephen Daldry, “The Reader”
Danny Boyle, “Slumdog Millionaire” : will win and should win.

But, big mistake: not nominating Sam Mendes for “Revolutionary Road”. The directing of that movie was one of the main reason why this movie was one of my favorites of the year. Awesome to see Gus van Sant in here which he deserves. Ron Howard had me sitting on the edge of my seat which I did not expect with “Frost/Nixon”. I LOVED “The Reader”, and wouldn’t mind if Stephen Daldry won, which would be a big upset.

Foreign Film:
“The Baader Meinhof Complex” Germany
“The Class” France
“Departures” Japan; “Revanche,” Austria
“Waltz With Bashir” Israel : will win

I have not seen any of the movies nominated here, but I’m sure “Waltz…” will win after what I’ve heard from friends and critics. Will definatley see this before the awards! But big mistake here: “I’d Loved You So Long”…saw this last night, and was really impressed! I think “Tell No One” was a 2006 movie, but it was released in 2008, so either I missed seeing this movie nominated last year (I’ll check), or the the Academy made a big mistake here not nominating what was for me one of the best movies of the year!

That’s it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

